Samonte Park, Cavite City: Photowalk, April 2016

Ever since I learned how to drive, got my license and finally got our first automatic transmission car, I’ve been itching to explore the beautiful and interesting places to visit around Cavite–the place where our family decided to live permanently in a humble home we can call our own. I was never born and neither did I grow up in Cavite, but ten years later since we moved in, I immediately fell in love with the place. I can name a lot of good reasons why, but that deserves another blog post which I intend to write in the near future.

1

On my resolution to explore more of what CALABARZON has to offer while I practice driving and expose myself more in its streets, one of my first stops is in Cavite City which is only a thirty-minute drive away from our house.

Quick Facts

Cavite City is a city in the Province of Cavite. It used to be the province’s capital before Trece Martires City. According to Wikiwand, the city started as a small port town of Cavite Puerto that prospered during the early Spanish colonial period when it became the main seaport of Manila. Due to its strategic position and extensive coastline, it also used to be the trading center between natives and Chinese merchants as early as 932 A.D. Today, it remains well-known for its strategic view of the sunset. (Particularly the reason why I wanted to visit the place). On its seawall is where you can see Manila through the coastline.

Samonte Park, Cavite City

One of the places Cavite City has to offer is the Samonte Park, located at the southerntip of Cavite City particularly in Plaza Soledad, Cavite City. The park is named after Governor Ramon Samonte, the first governor of Cavite under the Commonwealth government.

4

I was with my family at the time, and we only happened to randomly pass by Samonte Park as our sidetrip to our main destination, a prominent cafe in the place for our early dinner. It was still 3pm when we dropped by Samonte Park and considering the scorching heat, my mom wanted to go back to the car immediately. Lol! Note to self–will drop by the place for a photowalk ALONE. To cut the story short, I wasn’t able to really wander around the area because I have my other two elders in consideration–my mom and Ate Emily, our helper.

By the looks of it, I can say that this is a good hangout place when you simply want to walk, chill and observe people–which, admittedly, is becoming one of my favorite past time recently. I was only disappointed however with the trashes on its seawater which I hope the government and the locals themselves will take notice of. Since it boasts of a beautiful sunset, I wish for the place to hold to its reputation by starting off with a clean coastline.

3.jpg

Leave a comment